Shine Direct Primary Care
Verified listingAbout Shine Direct Primary Care
What is Shine Direct Primary Care?
Shine Direct Primary Care is a direct primary care practice, which means patients pay a membership fee to their physician instead of billing insurance. Dr. Frances I. Romero, MD, founded it in 2018. She is a board-certified family physician and a Menopause Society Certified Practitioner, and she is the only prescriber named. The practice serves Estero and Naples, Florida, and has offices in both towns.
Its main work is adult primary care with a focus on women's health, perimenopause and menopause, and hormone therapy. Four services are listed: primary care for individuals, a membership program for employers, ShineWell Menopause Hormone Therapy, and IV iron therapy. The hormone therapy section names estrogen, progesterone, and testosterone as possible treatments, chosen based on symptoms, history, and goals. It does not name a weight loss program, and peptide therapy is not among its services.
Members get longer visits, same-day or next-day appointments when available, and direct access to Dr. Romero by phone, text, or secure messaging. In its own words: "You’ll have easy access to her via office visits, texts, or video calls, which are all included in your membership." The practice has a 5 rating on Google from 29 reviews. Visits are by appointment, Monday through Friday. The practice says it is not set up for 24-hour care or emergency services.
This listing is for its Estero office at 9470 Corkscrew Palms Cir #104.
What does it cost?
It does not publish prices. It mentions a monthly membership fee but does not state the amount, and it does not publish a consultation fee. It also does not say whether the membership covers hormone therapy medication or lab work, and it does not state cancellation or commitment terms.
It accepts no insurance for any of its services, so everything is paid out of pocket. Your insurer can still cover lab work, imaging, and referrals. Dr. Romero has opted out of Medicare for primary care, so Medicare is not billed for those visits, though it can still be used for labs, imaging, and specialist visits.
What should you ask before you book?
Ask what the monthly membership fee is and whether it covers hormone medication and labs, or whether those are billed separately. Ask whether the medication is a brand-name FDA-approved product or a compounded preparation. The practice says its hormone therapy uses FDA-approved medications, but it does not say more than that.
Ask what follow-up visits and lab work cost, and whether IV iron therapy is included in membership. Ask how cancellation works and whether there is a minimum term. Finally, ask who handles a medical problem outside appointment hours, since the practice says it is not built for after-hours or emergency care.
Who is it a good fit for?
This is a good fit if you want one physician for ongoing primary care and hormone therapy, you are comfortable paying a membership and any medication or lab costs out of pocket, and you have another plan for after-hours and emergency needs. If you need evening or weekend care, or you want a published price before you call, this practice may not match what you are looking for yet.
Sources: shinedpc.com, shinedpc.com/hormones, shinedpc.com/contact, shinedpc.com/faq, shinedpc.com/about-us
Services Offered
What we confirmed
Read off Shine Direct Primary Care’s own website on 2026-10-14. These are their words, not ours.
- ✓Hormone therapy — listed on their site as “Hormone therapy uses FDA-approved medications to support the body as hormone levels naturally change with age.” source
Hours
Hours: By Appointment only